The Face Shop-Natural Sun Eco Calming sensitive sun SPF 40

img_1857-copy

Hello everyone happy Saturday! Hope that you all are enjoying that start of your weekend 🙂

Here is another product review for you, courtesy of my favorite skin care shop The Face Shop. I love The Face Shop because one it is conveniently located here in Hawaii, more specifically in Honolulu, Oahu. But most importantly, they create products that are affordable and caters to my skin type.

The product that I will be reviewing today is The Face Shop Natural Sun-Calming Sensitive sun SPF 40. This 50 ml (1.6 fl oz) product contains sunflower sports extract and natural plant extract to condition the skin leaving is hydrated and protected from the sun. It is infused with 100% internal filter to provide effective UV protection and leaves the skin calm, soothed & comfortable for even the most sensitive skin. This does not contain paraben or phenoxyethanol. So this is safe for any skin types.

Here is a little background on what paraben or phenoxyethanol. Both of these ingredients are commonly used as preservatives in cosmetic products. Preservatives may be used in cosmetics to prevent the growth of bacteria and mold, in order to protect the products and consumers. According to the US Food and Drug Administration, parabens are often used in combination with other types of preservatives to better protect against a broad range of microorganisms. Paraben is a safe product and helps to preserve your product, however, the one issue specific people might have with parabens lies in irritation. According to Ginger King, cosmetic chemist and founder of Grace Kingdom Beauty in New York, says “avoidance of parabens should be contingent on your skin type.” Similar to an allergy test, King said: “stinging tests are performed in Asia, testing parabens for intense stinging effects.” They found through this that Asian skin, in general, has more of a sensitive skin. So for many of the big brands, people cannot use the products because of the parabens removing them entirely helps the brands reach a wider audience.

Phenoxyethanol has also used a preservative in cosmetic products and also as a stabilizer in perfumes and soaps. However, exposure to this type of cosmetic preservative can link to reactions ranging from eczema to severe life-threatening allergic reactions. This is still safe for many people but to those with sensitive skin especially Asian skin, be careful of the products you buy that contain this ingredient.

The Natural Sun Eco-Calming sensitive sun cream does not contain any of these 2 ingredients because it caters to the Asian skin population but also gives a chance for other audiences a chance to use this. It is still natural and safe for the skin.

Opinion of the product

My first thought when I bought this product was “omg this is so cute!” I think I was attracted to the bright orange cover with the sunflower design on the product. This product is very small only 50 ml of product, which is small enough to fit into your purse or your beach bag. This product has a narrow opening enough to squeeze out a good amount of the product but not big enough for the entire product to spill out. Do I like the “snout”? (sorry can’t find a word to call the opening), I like it because it prevents the product to spill out and prevents me from using too much of the product and it also prevents the product to be contaminated. What I really love about this product is that it has an expiration date, which means that when this product does expire, you need to throw it out. This shows me that I need to use this before it expires. The reason they have the expiration date is because they don’t include any preservatives meaning the products use are all natural and will eventually expire.

The product itself has a very smooth consistency and does not leave your face looking white. It is absorbed well into the skin. Unlike other sunblocks which leave this white finish, this product is a medium consistency and is applied well to the skin and does not leave a white finish. There is a smell to this product, though. I love the smell, it is a delicious smell and smell kind of like a citrus fruity smell. If you are not a fan of scented products then I don’t think this is for you, but if you like that citrus fruity smell then I suggest you give this a try.

I was also given the hydrating mask by the same line. When I used this product it was cool to the skin and there is a mild smell but it goes away eventually. I left this mask on for 30 mins and rubbed the remaining product on my face. The next day, I woke up with a nice refresh smooth skin. I love using face mask because it adds that extra hydration that my skin needs.

Overall this product is great for your skin. Like I have been saying my skin has a combination of dry and oily skin. Have this sunblock helps with also hydrating and cooling my skin while protecting it from the harsh sun. I do have discolorations around my cheek area because I didn’t take good care of my skin when I was younger. I also live under the Hawaiian sun and played a lot of outdoor sports so that added up my sun exposure to my skin. Now that I know better and I’m getting older, I need to take better care of my skin to keep that youthful appearance a little longer 🙂

Like I said, I high recommend this to everyone. Very good product for the price. You’ll get your money’s worth, at the same time SPF 50 helps to really protect your skin from the harsh sun rays.

Alright everyone hope you are enjoying my entries. Please don’t forget to comment, like, and subscribe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

