The Importance of YOU

This week has been just plainly busy studying with a few nervous breakdown. I think this week, I was reminded that I am not alone. I am absolutely so blessed that I have my best friend who I can run to at a time when I’m freaking out and all the positive thoughts have been replaced by doubts. This week I have learned 2 most important life lessons.

The first is family and friends. The people that support you through the years of school and of life’ many changes. I’ve learned that with friends especially having a best friend who knows you inside and out. The best friend that has seen you at your lowest of lows and highest of highs, a best friend that never left your side and has never judge you. I feel like sometimes it’s too good to be true to have a self-sacrificing friend. I sometimes think that there must have been a time I did something good to be blessed to have such an amazing best friend. My best friend will go above and beyond to make you happy, to cheer you up when you are down and to make you feel special in every way. She is not just a best friend to me but has become a sister. I grew up as an only child and was surrounded by lots of cousins, but I never had a real connection to them like I have with my best friend. We bicker, we fight, we or well I wear her clothes, and we support each other, those are the things that I have longed to experience with a sibling and she fills that. A best friend and a sister by heart. Just like I know her inside and out, she knows me inside and out. She knows when I am feeling down or when I am happy. When I have a nervous breakdown because of this crazy test, I go to her, and she never fails to deliver and assuring me that I can do it. That I can get to the end of this dark tunnel. She is just simply amazing and this week I was reminded of that. God has blessed me with an amazing guardian angel and I wish and pray that someday I will repay her for the love she has given me. She sends me this quote that I wish to share with you all.

 “I am in no competition with no one. I have no desire to play the game of being better than anyone. I am simply trying to be better than the person I was yesterday. ” __ unknown

This is what I was struggling this week, I was so caught up in comparing myself to the success of other people. This made me feel sad of where I am in my life. However, my best friend made me realize that the only person that is holding me back is ME, she reminded me that I need to believe in myself to succeed, my future is not determined by other people, but it is determined by ME. I and only I alone will make my future happy and only I will succeed. No one else.

The second lesson I learned is, sometimes in life we just need a little break and spend time with the people you love. Yesterday my family made me realize that no matter how much they drive me crazy, they are still family. I am very grateful that my family had this impromptu family dinner because throughout the week I was stressing and having a nervous breakdown, having to just stop studying and spend time with the family made me unwind and not think about studying and just be happy. Saturday night I was able to unwind, sing a few songs on the karaoke machine, spend some time with my little cousin and just talking stories with the aunties and uncles made me realize that sometimes we just need a little break. By having this little break with them made me feel at ease and I was able to sleep better last night. 🙂

This past week has taught me so much and I know that GOD will continue to teach & remind me important lessons. I think that every week God has constantly given me reminders of lessons that I have learned before but have forgotten, the most important is myself and what I need to do to succeed. Don’t compare yourself to others because it will just hold you back. Love yourself and be happy on the path that you are in because that is exactly the path that god has planned for you. In time you will see the light, GOD is always right on his timing and he is never late. But don’t let God do all the work, there is a reason you are there and facing those problems, God wants you to learn something and in return share it with other so they may be inspired and motivated. Always remember to do things for yourself and show the undying love and power of GOD.

Leave a Reply

