Music Monday

Today is the first entry of my new series called Music Monday. Previously I updated on my blog that there are some ideas that I want to start doing. This is one of the projects that I want to do here on my blog. Before I did Music of the week, but since Music Monday seems to fit, then I decided hey, why not do a series where I can share my love of music.

 

They say music is universal no matter the language, people will always find music that connects to them. I want to use this new series to you all and show you the variety of music that I stumble upon and come to love. If you caught on yet, I love listening to different genres of music from any countries. So, everyone, I hope that you enjoy my series. Don’t forget to leave comments below and my blog is open to any suggestions on what music I should listen to next. Thanks for the support ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Korea:

Let’s start off the list with some Korean music. Recently the big new hype in the Korean music industry is a new girl group called Blackpink. They are from one of the Top 3 powerhouse agency called YG Entertainment. They debuted on Aug 8, 2016, with 2 songs, Boombayah and Whistle. This 4-member group’s debut took the Korean music industry by storm. They won their first music award within 14 days after they debuted. Both their songs topped the charts within the first week of their debut.

Now you are probably wondering why did you even give that introduction about this group when I can just google them. Well, my readers, it’s because they are just that good that they deserve an introduction. Ok, to further not bore you guys anymore let’s get down to talking about the song.

 

The first song Boombayah is a very upbeat and catchy song. The music video is colorful and shows the energy of the 4 girls. I personally don’t really like Boombayah as much. It took me several times listening to the song to hook me with it. But eventually, I was like any other Korean music fan out there and started dancing to the chorus, which I may add have failed miserably.

Boombayah

 

The 2nd song Whistle is my favorite song. I like that whistle sound in the song, when I first listened to this song, I ended up whistling with it. Usually, with music, I like I am pretty short in my description of it. Go and listen to it. Even if itโ€™s your first time listening to Korean music, I know that you will get hooked on this song ๐Ÿ™‚

Whistle

 

 

USA

The next song I am introducing you guys to is called Lifted by CL. This is CL’s US debut and for those who don’t know who she is, CL is a Korean music artist who is in a group called 2NE1. She and her groupmates have gained big popularity not just in Korea but internationally with their girl power attitude and some meaningful music. They have captured the hearts of many of their listeners. Lifted has a very heavy influence on the song called Methid Man by Wu-Tang Clan and Method Man. In fact, Method Man himself appeared in the MV. The song has many mix reviews by K-pop fans and non k-pop fans, some say it too Americanized, this is not the type of music CL is used to singing and so on and so forth.

Personally, I like this chill-out song vibe, shows a softer side of CL. Normally the music I am used to from CL is very heavy rapping mixed with electro and fast pace beat. I think that Lifted matches her US debut. So, guys, that is my short review on CL’s Lifted. Enjoy with chill out vibe ๐Ÿ™‚

Liftedย 

 

SmK-Activate

Now this song is a chill step/electro music. No lyrics just the instruments capturing your soul. I love listening to this type of music while I am studying away on my desk. This not just get you energized but also gets you to focus the task at hand without the distracting words. Itโ€™s a really great ear candy ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Italian

Baby K- Roma-Bangkok. I stumbled upon this song while I was searching for songs to listen to. I like to jump from different genres and I fall in love with new music when it gets me out of my chair and start dancing like a crazy person. This song does both, aside from the language, I love this song. With the upbeat song which got your shaking your booty with the beat. The language is Italian, for a very long time I’ve always been fascinated with the Italian language. The Italian language has a sense of a Spanish influence so some words I can understand, but I had to use my best friend google translate to see what the song means. This song is basically talking about traveling with someone and falling in love in the city from Rome to Bangkok. Definitely take the time to listen to the song and broaden your ears to a new song like this one. Check out the song and the MV on YouTube I promise you won’t regret it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Roma-Bangkok

Leave a Reply

