Movie Review: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

I’ve just recently finished watching the movie “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” directed and starred by Ben Stiller. This movie was absolutely amazing! To me the view was more of a motivational video to push me to finish this chapter in my life so I can start my next adventure. There were many great scenes that showed me the beauty of life and what the world has to offer. The movie not just shows a guy traveling but a guy that takes the leap of faith in himself to see the world and open his world to new things.

The quote in the movie “To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life.”   There is a great big meaning to this quote. To me this means that if you want to explore and live, you have to breakdown the walls of your limitations and jump into unknown to see your purpose in life. There is another quote that says ” Life begins at the end of your comfort zone” This means to take chances. Take that leap of faith into the unknown that is when you will know when you truly live your life.

This movie has truly inspired me to keep pushing myself to finish these last pages of this chapter to start a new chapter in my life where I can spread my wings and fly. To start living my life in taking that leap into the unknown. The last clip of Walter skateboarding in Iceland reflects the freedom he has when he first took that leap into his unknown adventure. The smile on his face and then spreading his arms to his side shows the reflection of feeling happy and fulfilled in life.

Food for thought: Be like Walter Mitty and give yourself that leap of faith to jump into the unknown and finally feel what living your life is like. It is true that life begins at the end of your comfort zone, start at the border and just GO FOR IT!

One thought on “Movie Review: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

Leave a Reply

